The Best Journal You’ll Ever Keep

Posted on April 30, 2013

0


sunday drivesHave you heard of Oprah’s gratitude journal? Where every day she enters 5 things she’s grateful for that day? Well, this isn’t that, but it’s in the same vein.

At the end of each day, take just a few minutes to reflect and ask yourself;

What did I enjoy today the most?

What would I have liked to do more of?

What would I like to do less of?

What did I learn today?

What will I do differently tomorrow?

And end with a Thought of The Day.

I like this for a few reasons, it helps me to be present, and find bits of happiness in everyday. For example, last Sunday the weather was terrible and so instead of staying inside, I just went for a drive. Not a typical “activity” of mine, but on this day, it was fitting. Driving through the countryside was beautiful and with no particular place to go, or a schedule to adhere to, it was relaxing and the perfect way to spend a cloudy, chilly day.

Not all days can be thrilling and newsworthy, but the recognition of how perfect a day it was for that day, put a gold star on an otherwise glummy day.

Keeping this journal, even if it’s sporadic and inconsistent, has allowed me to celebrate small successes, be present and be grateful for the bits of happiness that sneak into my days even when I’m not looking for them.

What did you enjoy the most today?