4 Questions to Redefine Tomorrows Success

Posted on April 15, 2013

2


DaydreamingWhen it comes to goal setting, being successful and generally living your life being awesome, I am a big believer in the power of the written word.

It provides clarity. Writing out your goals or your vision for your future requires that you slow down for a minute, think about what it is you want, consider what is really important to you and be specific about what you need to feel fulfilled and ultimately be happy.

It holds you accountable. Even if to no one but yourself, writing out what you want in your life, no matter how big or small, is a confession in itself on the importance of the matter. The act of writing it out, on paper or otherwise, is a way in which you admit that this is something you value, or desire. The admission then becomes our purpose and we can not forget that the purpose of our lives is to be happy (Dalai Lama).

It gives us measurement.  If we don’t know what our success looks like, then how will we know when we’ve achieved it?

There is no greater reward than achieving your goals. The most successful people and those that live the most satisfying and fulfilled lives are those that follow their dreams.

Simply by using written word to point my internal compass in the direction of my success, I have unconsciously attracted these things into my life simply by being aware that I want them. “And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.” (Palo Coelho, author of The Alchemist).

As life goes on, and small successes are achieved daily, our personal definitions for success should evolve and develop with us. With the opportunity I have now, I’m going to spend some time redefining what success looks like to me now. 

These are a few questions I’m going to sit with today and I welcome you to do the same.

If I could have anything in life – what would it be?

If I were living my ideal life, what would I be doing? Every day, every week, every month?

What does being successful mean to me?

If I were able to live my life again, knowing what I know now, what would I do differently?

If you spend some time today thinking about this, remember to be in the nowThe way I would answer these questions 10 years ago, 5 years ago or even 1 year ago would have been very different from how I answer them today. Tap into your dreams of yesterday, but don’t let them drive your future. Take notice if you have the same recurring dream/goal/definition of success 10 years ago, 5 years ago, 1 year ago and today, but if you no longer want to be living location independent while you travel the world, or  start a band or start a business…. let go. Focus on those recurring themes and what’s important to you now.

